Sign in to follow this  
HauteBanana

Geomancer Improvements

I started playing Survived By on early access launch. Since then, I've had around ~30 or more hours on geomancer alone and have solo'd every dungeon in the game except for t10. 

Geomancer IMO is a really fun class but is in need of some tweaks to make it more viable. In a stack ranked list, for the average player geomancer is the second worst class in the game, only above druid which is completely unplayable at the moment in end game content. From having been a main geomancer, here are my observations and various suggestions on how to improve the class. 

Observation: Geomancer's can play much more risky than most classes due to the turrets autoblocking bullets. At end game, each turret can block 1 bullet with a very brief invincibility frame. Turrets also shoot projectiles but these currently do negligible damage. Given that the turrets have limited use outside of bullet blocking, the majority of the geomancer legacy cards are useless. There are also some mechanical issues with the turrets such as them getting stuck behind walls. 

The class currently is not rewarded for risky play (up close) but turrets also don't do enough damage to try and keep them alive. Tuning the ability to reward risky play would be interesting as the game is currently missing a up close shotgun class. Alternatively, the ability can also be revamped to encourage long distance play through having high damage droppable turrets or auto-locking projectile turrets with increased damage.